Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Morbi eget sapien sed risus suscipit cursus. Quisque iaculis facilisis lacinia. Mauris euismod pellentesque tellus sit amet mollis. Nulla a scelerisque turpis, in gravida enim. Pellentesque sagittis faucibus elit, nec lobortis augue fringilla sed. Donec aliquam, mi in varius interdum, ante metus facilisis urna, in faucibus erat ex nec lectus. Cras tempus tincidunt purus, eu vehicula ante. Duis cursus vestibulum lorem.


Area residents will get the chance to hear from candidates seeking the state Superintendent of Public Instruction post during a forum to be held from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on Wednesday, May 25th, at Bellingham High School, 2020 Cornwall Ave.

The forum, free and open to the public, is hosted by Western Washington University’s Woodring College of Education, Bellingham Public Schools, and the League of Women Voters of Washington (Education Fund).  

Candidates who are expected to attend are:

  • Robin Fleming, administrator for health programs, state Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction; 
  • Ron Higgins, a teacher and retired engineer from West Richland;
  • Erin Jones, a Tacoma Public Schools administrator;
  • Chris Reykdal, state representative, 22nd Legislative District;
  • Larry Seaquist, a U.S. Navy veteran and former state representative;
  • David Spring, a parent and teacher from North Bend.

Current OSPI Superintendent Randy Dorn has announced he will not seek a third four-year term for the nonpartisan position. A primary election in August will narrow the field to two candidates, with the new superintendent selected by voters in November.

The forum will be moderated by the League of Women Voters, who will ask candidates questions regarding the role of the superintendent, as well as current education issues and initiatives.  Questions from the audience will be taken for the last 30 minutes of the forum.


Our annual meeting featured Marilyn Watkins, Policy Director for the Economic Opportunity Institute, as our special guest speaker. Ms. Watkins discussed women's economic security here in Washington and around the nation. Watch her presentation here

LWV of Washington President Ann Murphy offered opening remarks to kick off the annual business meeting. Co-Presidents Jayne Freudenberger, Judy Hopkinson, and Rebecca Johnson led the meeting, which began with two special awards for LWVBWC members: 

Judy Corliss was honored with the 50-Year Member Award. Judy has served the League tirelessly over the years, and has just concluded another two-year term of service as a board member. 

Martha Burns was the recipient of the annual Carrie Chapman Catt Award, given to a member who has gone above and beyond in dedication to, and support of, the League and its mission. 

LWVBWC gave special thanks to retiring board members at the annual meeting as well: Tanya Baumgart, Judy Corliss, and Jayne Freudenberger. The contributions of these three women to our local league is immeasurable; all have served in various board capacities for many years, and represent institutional memory that is irreplaceable. Many thanks to you all!

Three new board members were elected at the annual meeting as well: Kirsten Barron, Amy Cloud, and Joy Monjure. Judy Hopkinson and Rebecca Johnson will continue to lead us as co-presidents, with Allison Aurand as vice-president, Donna Williams as Treasurer, and Susan Mancuso as Secretary. Continuing board members are Riley Abel, Naomi Bunis, Caroline Correa, and Janice Keller. Annette Holcomb will serve again as Nominating Committee Chair, with able and experienced assistance from Jill Bernstein and Ursula Zvilna. 

We are looking forward to the coming year in League, and hope you will join us in continuing the critical mission of the League of Women Voters throughout 2016 and 2017!